30.6 C
Thursday, August 11, 2022

Visa Free Countries for Australians – Australian Migration Agents and Immigration Lawyers Melbourne

New Zealand

Australian passport holders are permitted to travel freely without the requirement of a visa to New Zealand. This is due to the 1973 Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangements. This legislation permits the free flow of Australians and New Zealanders between the two countries. It is a reciprocal agreement and therefore allows Australian and New Zealand citizens to enter each country to visit, live and work indefinitely.

For more information about NZ, see our New Zealand website here.


Please note: Japan remains closed to tourists due to remaining COVID-19 border restrictions

To travel to Japan, Australians do not require a visa for short-term stays. Upon arrival in Japan, Australian passport holders will be granted permission to enter. A short-term stay is a stay of up to 90 days for tourism, business, visiting friends or relatives. It should be noted that this does not include activities that provide remuneration ie employment.


Australia is part of the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) for the United States of America (USA). The VWP enables Australian passport holders among other countries to travel to the USA for tourism or business without obtaining a visa. The VWP permits stays for up to 90 days. To enter the USA under the VWP, Australian passport holders must apply for authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA). To travel to the USA, under the VWP you must:

  • Possess a passport with an integrated chip (e-Passport)
  • Register online through ESTA
  • Meet the standard VWP conditions

For more information on tourist visas for the USA, see our page on US Visitor Visas.


Latest news
Related news