15.1 C
Saturday, August 20, 2022

How Canada’s new NOC will affect Express Entry eligibility


16 occupations can become eligible for express Entry and 3 will become ineligible in November 2022.
Details of how the updated National Occupation Classification (NOC) system can have an effect on express Entry eligibility are released.
NOC 2021 can get effect in November 2022. a total of sixteen occupations can become eligible for express Entry, and 3 can become ineligible, according to an internal informing memo.
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) presently uses NOC 2016 to work out the eligibility of occupations under its temporary and permanent residency programs. However, IRCC should switch to NOC 2021 beginning in November as per Canadian law.
The NOC is managed by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) and Statistics Canada, which revises the system each ten years. NOC 2021 will introduce new terminology and a revised classification structure which will have an effect on IRCC programs.

Check about Canada Immigration from India.
As a results of these changes, the subsequent sixteen occupations can become eligible under express Entry:
Payroll administrators;
Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;
Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates;
Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;
Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants;
Sheriffs and bailiffs;
Correctional service officers;
By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers;
Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations;
Residential and commercial installers and servicers;
Pest controllers and fumigators;
Other repairers and servicers;
Transport truck drivers;
Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators;
Heavy equipment operators; and
Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.
There will also be three occupations that will become ineligible, including:

other performers;
program leaders and instructors in recreation, sports and fitness; and
tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners.
These three occupations will remain eligible for programs with broader occupational eligibility criteria, such as some streams of the Provincial Nominee Program.

The major amendment to NOC 2021 is that the current four-category “skill level” structure has been overhauled and replaced by a new six-category system. The new system outlines the extent of training, Education, experience and Responsibilities (TEER) needed to enter every occupation.

The previous NOC had four skill levels. NOC A represented jobs that tend to want university degrees, NOC B enclosed jobs within the skilled trades or that need a college diploma, NOC C covered jobs that need intermediate skills or job-specific training, and NOC D was for labor jobs that need on -the-job training.
In September 2020, IRCC’s government Committee set that the new TEER structure are adopted as follows:
NOC 2016 NOC 2021
Skill Type 0 TEER 0
Skill Level A TEER 1
Skill Level B TEER 2
Skill Level B TEER 3
Skill Level C TEER 4
Skill Level D TEER 5
NOC 2021 can use a five-tier hierarchical system to classify occupations. Also, occupations can currently have a five-digit codification system rather than the current four-digit system. The TEER system has six categories, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.
Management occupations.
Completion of a university degree (bachelor’s, master’s or doctorate); or
Several years of experience in a specific occupation from TEER category 2 (when applicable).
Completion of a post-secondary education program of two to three years at community college, institute of technology or CÉGEP; or
Completion of an apprenticeship training program of two to five years; or
Occupations with supervisory or significant safety (police officers and firefighters) responsibilities; or
Several years of experience in a specific occupation from TEER category 3 (when applicable).
Completion of a post-secondary education program of less than two years at community college, institute of technology or CÉGEP; or
Apprenticeship training of less than 2 years; or
More than six months of on-the-job training, training courses or specific work experience with some secondary school education; or
Several years of experience in a specific occupation from TEER category 4 (when applicable).
Completion of secondary school; or
Several weeks of on-the-job training with some secondary school education; or
Several years of experience in a specific occupation from TEER category 5 (when applicable).
Short work demonstration and no formal educational requirements.
Statistics Canada explains there are 2 main reasons why the skill type model is being replaced by the TEER system. First, the TEER system aims to supply additional clarity on the extent of education and work experience needed to figure in an occupation. Second, the skill type model creates artificial categorizations between low- and high-skilled jobs. Implementing TEER is meant to grant stakeholders a far better sense of the abilities needed for every occupation.

This Statistics Canada tool permits you to see how your current NOC corresponds with NOC 2021.


Latest news
Related news